National Vocational Qualifications (NVQs)

The Trust provides access to NVQ programmes in a variety of subjects. The service is overseen by a dedicated VQ Manager, plus a team of qualified assessors. The programmes are available to employees from a variety of work backgrounds.

Within the Trust, we have an approved centre which offers NVQs in the following areas:

  • Health and Social Care at Levels 2 and 3
  • Health at Level 3
  • Customer Service Level 2.

NVQs represent national standards recognised by employers throughout the country and reflect the skills and knowledge needed to do a job effectively. It is a government recommendation that all care workers achieve Level 2 as a minimum qualification. If a person has a National Vocational Qualification (NVQ) it shows that he/she can do the work for which it has been awarded, to national standards. It means that a person is competent in this kind of work.

NVQs are qualifications for work and show that a person can actually do a job, and not simply that he/she knows how to do it in theory. They are made up of units which describe the skills and knowledge needed to do a job effectively. They are divided into five levels of achievement.

NVQs can help a person to prepare for work or help his/her career development.  NVQs are achieved through the demonstration of skills. Getting an NVQ shows that a person can do a job to national standards and have the up-to-date skills employers are looking for. With NVQs the practice is as important as the theory - they show what a person can do as well as what he/she knows. NVQs are therefore much more than courses. A person does not have to sit through hours, days, weeks or even years of a course, and there are no exams at the end. NVQs are about putting learning into practice.

NVQs course charges.


Report a problem with this web page

Please contact us at and we'll put it right.

Translate this page: